Classification Explorer


Each individual included here has been mentioned ten times or more in the catalogue for the Churchill Archive. People are listed by name with titles in parentheses.

Where individuals are present in the online editions of the Oxford Dictionary of National Biography and/or Who Was Who, links are provided to the relevant pages. (Note that subscription to the Churchill Archive does not include subscription to these products.)

Person Read more about the person in…
Mabane, William, first Baron Mabane, 1895-1969   WWW
MacArthur, Douglas, 1880-1964   WWW
MacDonald, (James) Ramsay, 1866-1937 ODNB WWW
MacDonald, Malcolm John, 1901-1981 ODNB WWW
MacFarlane, Sir (Frank) Noel Mason, 1889-1953 ODNB WWW
MacKenna, Robert Merttins Bird, 1903-1984   WWW
MacLeod, Aubrey Seymour Halford-, 1914-2000   WWW
Macdonogh, Sir George Mark Watson, 1865-1942 ODNB WWW
Mackay, Aeneas Alexander, thirteenth Baron Reay, 1905-1963   WWW
Maclean, Sir Fitzroy Hew Royle, first Baronet, 1911-1996 ODNB WWW
Macleod, Iain Norman, 1913-1970 ODNB WWW
Macmillan, Daniel de Mendi, 1886–1965 ODNB WWW
Macmillan, (Maurice) Harold, first earl of Stockton, 1894-1986 ODNB WWW
Macnamara, John Robert Jermain, 1905-1944   WWW
Macnamara, Thomas James, 1861-1931 ODNB WWW
Maeterlinck, Maurice, 1862-1949   WWW
Maisky, Ivan Mikhailovich, 1884-1975   WWW
Maitland, Sir Arthur Herbert Drummond Ramsay Steel [Sir Arthur Steel Maitland], first Baronet, 1876-1935 ODNB WWW
Malcolm, Sir Ian Zachary, 1868-1944 ODNB WWW
Mallet, Sir (William) Ivo, 1900-1988   WWW
Mallock, William Hurrell, 1849-1923 ODNB WWW
Marchant, Sir James, 1867-1956   WWW
Marder, Arthur Jacob, 1910-1980 ODNB WWW
Margaret Rose, Princess, countess of Snowdon, 1930-2002 ODNB  
Margesson, (Henry) David Reginald, first Viscount Margesson, 1890-1965 ODNB WWW
Margesson, (Henry) David Reginald, first Viscount Margesson, 1890-1965 ODNB WWW
Marina, Princess [Princess Marina of Greece and of Denmark], duchess of Kent, 1906-1968 ODNB  
Marjoribanks, Dudley Churchill, third Baron Marjoribanks, 1874-1935   WWW
Marjoribanks, Edward, second Baron Tweedmouth, 1849-1909 ODNB WWW
Marjoribanks, Edward, second Baron Tweedmouth, 1849-1909 ODNB WWW
Marples, (Alfred) Ernest, Baron Marples, 1907-1978 ODNB WWW
Marquis, Frederick James, first earl of Woolton, 1883-1964 ODNB WWW
Marsh, Sir Edward Howard, 1872-1953 ODNB WWW
Marshall, George Catlett, 1880-1959   WWW
Marshall, Sir Douglas, 1906-1976   WWW
Martell, Edward Drewett, 1909-1989   WWW
Martin, Christopher John Holland-, 1910-1960   WWW
Martin, Sir John (Miller), 1904-1991   WWW
Masaryk, Jan Garrigue, 1886-1948   WWW
Masefield, John Edward, 1878-1967 ODNB WWW
Massey, (Charles) Vincent, 1887-1967 ODNB WWW
Massigli, René, 1888-1988   WWW
Massingham, Henry William, 1860-1924 ODNB WWW
Masterman, Charles Frederick Gurney, 1874-1927 ODNB WWW
Mathews, Sir Charles Willie, Baronet, 1850-1920 ODNB WWW
Matthews, Leonard Harrison, 1901-1986 ODNB WWW
Maturin, Verity Gillian, 1931-1985    
Maudling, Reginald, 1917-1979 ODNB WWW
Maugham, Frederic Herbert, first Viscount Maugham, 1866-1958   WWW
Maurice, Sir Frederick Barton, 1871-1951 ODNB WWW
Maxton, James [Jimmy], 1885-1946 ODNB WWW
Maxwell, Sir Alexander, 1880-1963 ODNB WWW
Maxwell, Sir John Grenfell, 1859-1929 ODNB WWW
May, Sir William Henry, 1849-1930 ODNB WWW
Mayo, Katherine, 1867-1940 ODNB WWW
Maze, Paul Lucien, 1887-1979   WWW
McCann, Sir Charles Francis Gerald, 1880-1951   WWW
McCorquodale, Malcolm Stewart, first Baron McCorquodale of Newton, 1901-1971   WWW
McFall, David (Bernard), 1919-1988   WWW
McGowan, Harry Duncan, first Baron McGowan, 1874-1961 ODNB WWW
McGregor, James Reid, 1896-1984   WWW
McKenna, Reginald, 1863-1943 ODNB WWW
McNeill, Ronald John, Baron Cushendun, 1861-1934 ODNB WWW
Meade, Arthur Vesey, fifth earl of Clanwilliam, 1873-1953   WWW
Melville, Sir Ronald (Henry), 1912-2001   WWW
Menzies, Sir Robert Gordon, 1894-1978 ODNB WWW
Menzies, Sir Sir Stewart Graham, 1890–1968 ODNB WWW
Meux, Sir Hedworth, 1856-1929 ODNB WWW
Meyer, Eugene, 1875-1959   WWW
Middleton, Drew, 1914-1990   WWW
Millar, Frederick Robert Hoyer, first Baron Inchyra, 1900-1989 ODNB WWW
Millard, Sir Guy (Elwin), b. 1917   WWW
Milne, Sir (Archibald) Berkeley, second Baronet, 1855-1938 ODNB WWW
Milne, Sir John Sydney Wardlaw, 1879-1967 ODNB WWW
Milner, Alfred, Viscount Milner, 1854-1925 ODNB WWW
Milnes, Robert Offley Ashburton Crewe, marquess of Crewe, 1858-1945 ODNB WWW
Mitchell-Thomson, William, first Baron Selsdon, 1877-1938   WWW
Mitcheson, Sir George Gibson, 1883-1955   WWW
Mitford, Thomas David Freeman-, 1909-1945   WWW
Molotov, Vyacheslav Mikhailovich, 1890-1986   WWW
Molson, Hugh (Elsdale), Baron Molson, 1903-1991   WWW
Monckton, Bridget, 11th Lady Ruthven of Freeland, 1896-1982   WWW
Monckton, Walter Turner, first Viscount Monckton of Brenchley, 1891-1965 ODNB WWW
Mond, Julian Edward Alfred, third Baron Melchett, 1925-1973 ODNB  
Money, Sir Leo George Chiozza, 1870-1944 ODNB WWW
Montacute, Rupert Charles, Lord Nevill, 1923-1982   WWW
Montagu, (Alexander) Victor Edward Paulet, tenth earl of Sandwich, 1906-1995 ODNB WWW
Montagu, Edwin Samuel, 1879-1924 ODNB WWW
Montgomery, Bernard Law [Monty], first Viscount Montgomery of Alamein, 1887-1976 ODNB WWW
Montgomery, David Bernard, second Viscount Montgomery of Alamein, b. 1928   WWW
Montgomery, Ian, 1913-1971   WWW
Moore, Sir Archibald Gordon Henry Wilson, 1862-1934   WWW
Moore, Sir Thomas (Cecil Russell), 1886-1971   WWW
Morgenthau, Henry, 1891-1967   WWW
Morley, John, Viscount Morley of Blackburn, 1838-1923 ODNB WWW
Morley, Sir James Wycliffe Headlam, 1863-1929 ODNB WWW
Morris, Sir Philip Robert, 1901-1979 ODNB WWW
Morris, William Richard, Viscount Nuffield, 1877-1963 ODNB WWW
Morrison, Herbert Stanley, Baron Morrison of Lambeth, 1888-1965 ODNB WWW
Morrison, John William, second Viscount Dunrossil, 1926-2000 ODNB WWW
Morrison, William Shepherd, first Viscount Dunrossil, 1893-1961 ODNB WWW
Morton, Sir Desmond John Falkiner, 1891-1971 ODNB WWW
Moseley, Sir George (Walker), 1925-2011   WWW
Mountbatten, Louis Alexander, first marquess of Milford Haven, 1854-1921 ODNB WWW
Mountbatten, Louis Francis Albert Victor Nicholas, first Earl Mountbatten of Burma, 1900-1979 ODNB WWW
Mowatt, Sir Francis, 1837-1919 ODNB WWW
Moynihan, Patrick Berkeley, second Baron Moynihan, 1906-1995   WWW
Munnings, Sir Alfred James, 1878-1959 ODNB WWW
Munro, Robert, Baron Alness, 1868-1955 ODNB WWW
Murphy, Robert Daniel, 1894-1978   WWW
Murray, (George) Gilbert Aime, 1866-1957 ODNB WWW
Murray, Alexander William Charles Oliphant, Baron Murray of Elibank, 1870-1920 ODNB WWW
Murray, John George Stewart, eighth duke of Atholl, 1871-1942 ODNB WWW
Murray, Katharine Marjory Stewart, duchess of Atholl, 1874-1960 ODNB WWW
Murray, Katharine Marjory Stewart-, duchess of Atholl, 1874-1960 ODNB WWW
Murray, Sir Oswyn Alexander Ruthven, 1873-1936 ODNB WWW
Mussolini, Benito, 1883-1945   WWW